Smart choices for 2016

When it comes to making choices, nothing good ever comes from a place of fear. There’s so much holding us back in 2015 that’s gone too crazy to even dwell in- the politics, crime rates, bad economy, war-waging terrorists, etc.. As a Malaysian I’m beyond disappointment at what’s current. However the most important thing is moving on for the sake of our children. For those who are not obliged, just the state of moving on to a better state of mind is sufficient enough.

I believe our brain works in two direction – one that prompts us to do what feels great RIGHT NOW and the other,  deliberates and nag into every impulse (hello, retail therapy and vacations!!) and HOLD back for second opinion. Maybe third. Personal finances is definitely not a comfortable topic to preach as we tie so much emotion to rewarding ourselves. But like Suzie Orman said, every choice in every day that helps me achieve $$$ is a choice to be kind and generous to myself.

So I agree with the above completely. It is that time of the year where making smart choices in 2016 is not about being fit for fashion or looking more successful than others. Its about savings accomplishments. And I wish I could be more honest in sharing my goals, challenges and having another person to check on me periodically without judging. And I would do the same too based on mutual concerns, without judging. Because we get all superficial when it comes to money, and we are not too kind sometimes. 🙂

I would now make a list of savings goals, set a commitment contract with myself… and search for a savings cheerleader. It would be really awesome to really set aside 10-30% a month from my paycheck. Well, yeah..

Any comment on this?

