my best-dressed pick from the 2012 Oscars

One of the red carpet shows I look forward to observe is the Academy Awards, partly because I wish to know which nominated movie or actor would bagged the Oscars and partly, who wears the best couture for 2012. I haven’t watched many of the nominated movies, maybe because they weren’t of the mainstream variety as compared to last year’s but I guess now that The Artist won I will check it out plus some other ones nominated this weekend. For now, let’s feast your eyes on some of the gowns which blew my mind. 🙂
My first pick would be Jennifer Lopez’s – this Zuhair Murad’s dress complimented all her curves to the hilt. I would say when it comes to body – nobody sizzles with class and style like JLo.

img taken from avahtaylor.com


It was too sheer though for my liking but I like the drape and stripey look all over. Gorgeous!
Next, I was so thrilled to see the pretty gowns I saw on Ellie Saab’s 2012 couture collection made it to the Oscars! Was inspired by the look that I even ask my tailor to make a similar dress (with adjustments to hijab-wearing requirement). Love the shimmering pastels. It wasn’t too great on Berenice Bejo, a little frumpy maybe it’s really meant for very slim lanky ladies but Milla looked stunning in the white Ellie Saab, together with her red hot lips.

img taken from thefashioncourt.com


img taken from stylefrizz.com


This year, white and nudes seems to reign on the red carpet. I see a lot of flowing chiffon, silk and crepes but most look very wedding-ish and prom-ish to me but when Gwyneth Paltrow and Shailene Woodley turned up with these it was simply refreshing.

img taken from perezhilton.com


img taken from teenvogue.com


I’m head over heels with this gown by Valentino – it looks great with hijab! Now you can almost *smell* how my future dress going to look like… hehhe
Finally, the most breathtaking dress (in my eyes) goes to:

img taken from aolcdn.com


Fiery gorgeous isn’t it? I can imagine the hours of beadwork but this screams DIVA!

Till then, have a merry delicious dreams of couture gowns and I will keep you posted with my review of Oscar movies soon.

2 thoughts on “my best-dressed pick from the 2012 Oscars

Any comment on this?

