Friday fabulous: my DIY manicure

I love to treat myself to a professional manicure but I find it terribly expensive to maintain (especially when your nails grow so fast!), plus I cook and wash dishes on daily basis so it’s not a pretty sight to have your manicured nails chipped and stained with turmeric and chilli powder isn’t it? Well, let’s leave the salon-perfect manicures to the Tai Tais and those who doesn’t spend much time in the kitchen! LOL Anyhow, I found a great solution to salon-quality manicures by doing it myself. Saves the agony of having to make appointments etc whenever I have an event coming along. By the way, I’m now “cruising on the crimson tide” so it’s perfect to indulge and leave a nail colour on for a week! *wink
My pick of the month is Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri nail colour in Espresso. I love its pretty mauve shade which clicks well with most outfits and doesn’t grab too much attention.

image taken from kaboodle.com


Last year I bought a set of professional DIY manicure which costs me RM100++ but it was worth it coz I can have my own manicure at any time I choose.

cuticle fixers, emery board, buffing creams and gadgets.. you name it I got it! hehhe


Once in a while I’ll indulge in a professional pedicure because I can’t seem to bend 180 degrees and scrap on the calluses on my foot! Yeah I’ll leave it to the masters. Anyway, there’s plenty of DIY manicures and pedicures video online for you to choose but this is my pick.

This is my own results! Check it out. šŸ™‚

after clean and trim and before nail colour


my nails in Espresso! šŸ™‚


It’s quite a challenge to colour the other hand to perfection when you do it yourself but practice makes perfect right? šŸ™‚ Have a good weekend folks!

4 thoughts on “Friday fabulous: my DIY manicure

  1. thanks Loretta! yes, the espresso was nice but application was a bit tacky because Sally Hansen’s nail polish brushes are thicker than most. I prefer OPI, and even the cheaper range has better brushes. But I love Sally Hansen’s nailcare. Awesome stuff! Thanks for dropping by. Love your blog too. šŸ™‚

  2. hey, the person who did my manicurist told me that seche base and top coat are better than opi’s. so maybe you want to try them. i bought them from http://www.nailfiesta.com and they are good….and i also buy some opi colours from that website. too bad they dun sell seche colours there. i heard it is better than opi.

Any comment on this?

