Jillian Michaels : a trainer with a heart

Last night I watched Losing It with Jillian and I was completely taken by how a family with a lot of issues saved their life through a change of diet and fitness through the training of Jillian Michaels. The family was dealing with a divorce, ovarian cancer and ultimately, depression. The children of the family was very sad to see how their mother succumbed to self-destructive behaviour but they couldn’t talk and help her change so they enlist the help of Jillian Michaels. Within a few weeks Michaels helped them sort out their insecurities. It was very inspiring seeing the family managed to change so much and gained a lot of confidence, trust and love in return. Mr Husband and I watched it and we were very affected by the conclusion; When you love yourself you will take charge of your destiny and won’t submit to the circumstances in your life regardless.

The lesson I got from here was, as a wife and a mother, the task of creating happiness and joy in the family is very much in our hands whether we like it or not. Our moods and behaviour influence the vibe in the family. So it’s with that conscience I need to first, take care of myself and secondly, make sure the whole family indulge in healthy habits. Oh by the way, I have started running on the treadmill again. I don’t want to jinx the effort by telling you but can’t help feeling so empowered that I took up the challenge to work out again against my laziness! *wink

I couldn’t get the full episode of this show online – maybe you could if you google it further. Anyway, I’ll leave you with one of her workout video. Beats having an expensive trainer around because you could actually do it yourself – if you are determine enough. Are you ready?

I got this description of Michaels which I think is quite inspirational too. When I saw Losing It with Jillian I was surprised to see how personal and kind she was to the contestants she dealt with. Then when I read the following I understood why.

taken from Wikipedia:
Jilian Michaels was born in Los Angeles, California, and raised in Santa Monica. Exacerbated by her parents’ divorce when she was 12, she struggled with weight problems during her early teens. In a 2009 episode of The Doctors, Michaels showed a photograph of herself at age 12, saying she weighed 175 pounds (79 kg) and was 5 feet (150 cm) tall. She began to take control of her weight problems at age 14 when her mother signed her up for martial arts classes. By age 17 Michaels was working as a personal trainer.
Michaels attended California State University, Northridge, supporting herself as a bartender and personal trainer during that time. After working briefly as an agent with International Creative Management, in 2002 Michaels opened the sports medicine facility Sky Sport & Spa in Beverly Hills.
Michaels is very family oriented and remains close with her mother, brother and younger sister.She is single and lives in Los Angeles.

Any comment on this?

