drink your veggies!

Apart from trying hard to be financially-savvy for 2012, I also wish to be healthy and fit. Just before my 34th birthday last December, I met a wonderful lady teacher while I was invigilating the SPM exams and she talked at great length how raw food diet has changed her life. While I’m very much aware of the benefits of phytonutrients, I wasn’t sure how it can be easily integrated into my lifestyle. She introduced me to Dr Thomas Wu’s book and as it was only published in Mandarin, took the trouble to translate the recipes to English. I’m truly indebted to her because I know not many would do this, especially for me. Like who am I to her right, just an accidental colleague for 11 days invigilating exams together! She’s one of those who doesn’t choose who to be kind to, and maybe it’s just God’s way to enlighten me to a better diet and lifestyle through this woman. Nonetheless, I am now practising what I’ve learnt – drink your veggies and fruits! It’s quite tough to seek out accurate servings etc, but Dr Thomas Wu’s recipes really help matches the right fruits and vege for certain benefits. I drink the recommended juice 3 days a week especially on weekdays before I go to work and at dinner. I vary the concoctions so it won’t taste boring. It’s been a month and I will tell you there’s been a significant change in my energy level and eyesight. My vision is very much clearer, thanks to all the carrots and blueberries. And I have less skin breakout – maybe there’s more oxygen in my blood compared to before. I was told if I continue this diet for more than 3 months my blood circulation will be much better. It all makes sense you know. If I’m dilligent enough I won’t need supplements because I’m feeding myself with nature’s superfood. šŸ™‚
By the way, I’m not completely dependant on Dr Wu’s anticancer smoothies. While he’s good, I believe noone’s complete in their approach so I also read other Raw Food Diet practioner. Please do not jump to conclusion that I have turned all vegetarian! Sad to claim, I still love meat in my diet. It’s just that now I’m drinking my veggies I’m less of a carnivor! I still enjoy my steak and chicken cordon bleu once in a while. šŸ™‚

Here I would like to share bits and pieces of what I’ve learnt. If it’s any use, especially if you believe in phytonutrients to make you better, do try.

Note:
The juices are meant to be consumed daily so you can alternate the recipes from the following. These are for one person’s consumption but if you’re making for two or three you can double the amount. Make sure that you buy organic vege and fruits but if you can’t get some, then wash and peel everything throroughly to get rid of pesticide or chemicals on the skin. If you can’t get all the items stated in the recipe, just blend whatever you have (I did!). Also check your blender machine. The best is the 2/3 horsepower VitaMix range but a normal 300-800 Watt blender will do, but you need to process longer so everything will be pureed and smooth. The ingredients mentioned to be added after blend must be followed as instructed to ensure the nutrients not compromised (meaning dont dump them all and blend together.) Juice is best served fresh and you can keep them in the fridge but not longer than a day.

RECIPES:
1. GENERAL WELL-BEING JUICE
1 tomato
1 carrot
1/2 beetroot
3 asparagus
1/2 celery
3 stalks of spinach/ 1/2 purple cabbage
2 stalks of coriander leaves
2 stalks of parsley
3 slices of ginger
a bit of rosemary/lemongrass
a bit of basil leaves
1 kiwi fruit
10 grapes (with seed)
1/2 cup of blueberries
1/2 cup of dried seaweed (kombu)
1/2 teaspoon of powdered turmeric/ 3 slices of turmeric
1/2 teaspoon of powdered cumin
1 teaspoon of flaxseed
2 teaspoon of black sesame
5 blackpepper seed
2 cups of water

*Chop and blend all the above together. After blend add 1 teaspoon of organic lecithin powder.

2. ENERGY JUICE
1 tomato
1/2 carrot
1/2 beetroot
1/2 celery
1/2 cup of corn
3 stalks of coriander leaves
3 slices of ginger
1 kiwi fruit
2 slices of pineapple
1/2 teaspoon of powdered turmeric/ 3 thin slices of turmeric
1/2 teaspoon of powdered cumin
1 tablespoon of flaxseed
1 1/2 tablespoon of black sesame
5 black pepper seed

*Chop and blend all the above together. After blend add 1 teaspoon of organic lecithin powder and 2 teaspoon of bee pollen.

Any comment on this?

