my true love

It all started with a piece of chocolate danish I bought on the way from work. When I got home, I quickly warm it up in the microwave and it came out a bit soggy – the chocolate bits on the danish has melted on the roll. I turned on the TV, sat on the floor to enjoy my snack and lil’ Aisyah came and sat on my lap. She demanded a bite. We shared a mouthful of danish each. She waited patiently for me to finish my bite before she claimed hers. Wrapped in my embrace, lil’ Aisyah smells of milk and sunshine, and as she pick up the crumbs where I left off, her tiny hands reach to her lips then my hand, pulling the danish closer to her mouth. She gestured to me for my turn. Then it striked me how fulfilled I was right at that second – with my baby happily chewing on the bits of pastry, and her mouth was covered with chocolate all over. All the longing in the world has just been lifted, and my baby’s chocolate-covered face filled my heart. I was craving for this moment all my life. It never occured to me that a moment sharing a piece of roll with my baby could strike me as precious. Tears welled up in my eyes, and I knew God has answered my prayers – I will never be lonely again.

9 thoughts on “my true love

Any comment on this?

