social life truth for newly post pregnant me

Today I learn the hard truth of being a new Mom.

My life post delivery was pretty much housebound except for the occassional grocery shopping and coffee with friends which doesn’t take me long from the baby. Plus most of my outings are with family so it’s easy to lug baby around because our destination are either malls, restaurants or at relatives’. Baby wasn’t a chore at all – I’m getting used to nursing her in public and doing everything related to travelling with baby. By now I’m pretty much a hands-on mom. However, come new year, Mr Hubby’s social calendar has started to fill up with invites to events and parties, and usually those are extended to couples – not the whole gang of children, nannies, maids etc. Most of these social outing requires the ladies to look extra fabulous. Although I’m nowhere near socialite status, I do make the effort to look good for events, so when Mr Hubby told me about a party tonight I wasn’t too distressed at first. I figured I’ve lost some weight so I could fit into my old frocks. Little did I know everything has expanded in size and by 7pm I was practically having a breakdown after trying numerous outfit. Nothing fits, and I should’ve bought something earlier but I was too stubborn to admit I have grown fat. I guess Mr Hubby must have gone clueless trying to reassure me that there must be something that fits my new body. Why don’t you wear one of your maternity dress? He wildly suggested and I think I did glare at him. Well, in the end I agreed to a black lycra maternity dress, and half way through make up, my baby starts wailing. Aisyah needs changing, feeding and all of a sudden she doesn’t take well to bottle so I had to nurse her direct. We had 20 minutes to rush to the event and you should’ve seen me – hair up in rollers and pins, make up half done and nursing baby. It struck me then my life has changed and my baby is priority now. I started to breathe easier and told Mr Hubby he has to go alone. Since married we’ve never gone separately to social events, but things are different now. It was the only calming solution to the present madness.

As I listened to Mr Hubby driving away, I looked at my baby, at her needy face and realised that I’d rather be with her than anywhere else. My other daughter Fatin came home an hour later and found me unchanged, still nursing. She asked me whether I was going somewhere and I explained to her the whole story.

“If I were you I would’ve been pissed. All dressed up and nowhere to go.” She concluded.
I smiled. One day when she becomes a mother she will know what to be pissed at. Right now I know I’m not pissed missing out on being socialite of the night.

Just for memory-sake looking back at 2009 – I had the most fun (eating I mean!) at this event.

which one is qahina? he he..5 month preggers with Aisyah so hiding at last right corner! he he


Oh yeah, before I forget – Happy New Year everyone! 🙂

Any comment on this?

