baby bag and missing hubby

Today Mr Hubby has resigned from being my unpaid but over-loved chaffeur to school because he has to report for a new job somewhere else.. That spells the end of Tai Tai days where I’m being chaffeur-driven almost everywhere, so I drove my humble MyVi with great exhilaration because deep down I relish my freedom to choose:
a) my favourite radio station or CD
b) complete silence
c) pure control of the steering wheel and accelerator
Oh yeah, now that I’m driving alone I brought along my baby a.k.a hospital bag in my boot just in case my water broke mid way at school or on the road and I need to get to the hospital pronto! he he…
I often wonder what should you packed in a baby bag and after so-called extensive research and common sense, here is my list. Anything else I should add? Please feel free to comment.

babywear (night and day 5 each complete with mittens and booties), toileteries for baby and Mommy, socks, maternity pads (with loops), disposable nursing pads and bra, 2oz milk bottles (to keep breast/pwdered milk in case), baby napkins and wipes, Mommy's decent attire for guests and checkups, sarong, towel, slippers and hospital documents.

babywear (night and day 5 each complete with mittens and booties), toileteries for baby and Mommy, socks, maternity pads (with loops), disposable nursing pads and bra, 2oz milk bottles (to keep breast/pwdr milk), baby napkins and wipes, Mommy's decent attire for guests and checkups, sarong, towel, slippers and hospital documents.

Speaking of Mr Hubby, by midday today – I began to miss him like crazy. He used to call me 5 times at a stretch while he’s not working but now that he’s occupied there wasn’t a single ring! ha ha…. Not that I was waiting by the phone but even my colleagues remarked so and made me noticed. So I texted him some crazy notes and he replied with a short:
“Same2”
Well, Okay… I continued my task of marking papers and wasted some time at school till 6 pm. We met later for dinner straight from our separate locations and when we sat together, both started talking at once.
It was like listening to a duck and parrot talking…nobody made sense to each other but it was just nice to talk to one another face to face eh? LOL
I think I like it better when my spouse is working but I realised that I still miss having him sending me to work. Yes, Fely, you are so right in your last comment. You never really appreciate what you got till it’s gone. 🙂

Alright, back to marking again…

6 thoughts on “baby bag and missing hubby

  1. Aniq, you need those sport’s drinks as well, you know macam 100 plus ker, lucozade ker, but make sure it’s the sort of flavour you can take. If you’re anything like me, took about 12 hours to push, you need those drinks to keep your strength up. You also need sanitary pads. Bukan yang jenis malu-malu macam panty liner, but those thick and big preferably with wings, night time sanitary pads. They have special maternity ones in the UK, maybe they’ll have it in Malaysia too. You’ll bleed loads, like you think you’re bleeding your life away so don’t go without them. I took lots with me!! And clothing, for trousers or panties, bring dark coloured ones. You’ll find out why. Don’t take your size 10 jeans in with you. Nobody tells you this but your tummy will take some time to get back into those pre-pregnancy stage. I took my jim jams with me to the hospital and they didnt fit!! despite them being stretchy. So with Garth, i just took my 1st and second trimester clothes with me. Oh, last but but not least, some snacks. you might get peckish in the nights and minta makan at 11pm mesti tak kena layan punya! Breastfeeding will make you ravenous and thirsty 24/7 so keep some food by your side.
    Kang nanti I teringat lagi apa nak bawa I’ll message you ok.

    I so envy you right now. This is my favourite stage of pregnancy, the stage when you’re about to pop!

    XXX

  2. Not long to go, huh? I’m sure you are pretty excited about going into labour and delivering your lovely little bundle. All the best, Aniq. Go for epidural to lessen the pain. You can still smile through it all! 🙂

  3. Hi dear, you can stash the baby clothes cos they’ll wrap him/her (?) up in a towel the whole time. Just need one set of going home clothes (for those first pictures!). Get some hot drinks by your side cos depending on which hospital (and your luck) the cafe might be closed or it may be in the middle of the night when you get hunger pangs. Milo or horlicks is good. The last thing which I’d recommend to EVERYBODY is to get a balloon to sit on. If you’re birthing naturally you’ll feel very delicate down there and sitting on the balloon is the only way you’ll be able to endure sitting up at all. It looks like a motorbike tyre’s inner tube and you can get it from a pharmacy. Oh it’s so exciting! I miss this time of my pregnancy too.

    • thanks Bea! am excited too and love that ur sharing! will keep this blog posted when the baby pops, ok 🙂
      Ashley: I would be at Pantai, yeah will SMS you definitely. I’ve scrutinized my baby bag after ur comment and it comes in handy. Thanks. How’s Zai doing? When is she expected? Should be abt now right?
      Mdm Tai Tai: thanks..and I have ur tips in mind. Like the one “dont try on new clothes till 3 months after!” he he….
      Fely honey: love love love ur tips – thanks a bomb!:) Yeah, will bring lots of food. Did u pantang afterwards? I knew ur mom came over to jaga u rite?

Any comment on this?

