masak lemak udang Qahina style

My friend Ashley requested for this recipe after I blab about it on facebook.. ha ha…masak lemak is my favourite dish. I’m not a ‘Nogheri’ person but whenever I see masak lemak I go weak in the knees – especially masak lemak daging salai. I couldn’t find daging salai so I make do with udang kertas; fresh from the market. So Ashley, the quantity of ingredients here are subject to taste. If you want a mild spicy taste- just grind 10-15 cili padi only ok- here we go..good luck. πŸ™‚

vital ingredients and final produce!

vital ingredients and final produce!

Masak lemak udang kertas with belimbing buloh

Ingredients:
1/2 kg Udang kertas (galah also can)
25 cili padi (grind)
1.5 turmeric (grind)
half a handful of udang kering (grind)
4 onions and 2 garlic (grind)
7 pieces of belimbing buloh (you can find this in market at Malay stalls)
2 kunyit leaves (finely chopped)
1 cup pati santan (cream of coconut milk)
4 cups santan perah (coconut milk)
5 biji limau kasturi (squeeze the juice)
Ajinomoto, salt and a bit of sugar to dillute the spicy taste

Manual
Heat the pot under low fire. Pour the santan perah, add all grinded ingredients and stir slowly till mix well. Do this for about 3-5 minutes and don’t allow ‘pecah minyak’ all the way. Add the turmeric leaves and pati santan and stir well, then add the belimbing buloh. Normally I will stir and let the gravy simmer for a few more minutes so that the cili padi is fully cooked. Next, add the lime juice, salt, aji and sugar to taste. Stir and finally add the udang. You will know the gravy and udang is cooked based on the colour of the pink udang but don’t leave it too long. Serve to four.

I cooked this today coupled with sambal telur burung puyuh – another fav. Good luck…I don’t guarantee that it’s great but whenever I eat this, sure tambah 2 kali nasi..he he. πŸ™‚

Any comment on this?

