modified masak asam pedas my style

All of a sudden I had a major craving for asam pedas. I’ve never done asam pedas myself – everytime I want to eat asam pedas I’ll go to my mom’s place – she makes great asam pedas – finger licking good style! πŸ™‚ Since I don’t want to trouble Mom and my tastebud is longing for asam masam taste, this morning I went to market to get ikan pari (stingray?), some bunga kantan and daun kesum. I asked Mom, how she did it – she gave me a rough sketch through the phone. Well, to fit hubby’s mamak taste – I add more onions and a spoon of fish curry paste -and this is how it turns out:

photo courtesy of haniliza. Mine? tak sempat snap - dahh licinsss! :)

photo courtesy of hanieliza. Mine? tak sempat snap - dahh licinsss! πŸ™‚


My recipe (my mom’s actually- modified sikit)
a teaspoon of jintan putih, jintan manis, biji sawi and crushed black pepper, and a teaspoon of fish curry paste
8 cloves onion
3 cloves garlic
(blendered)
10 fresh red chillies
2 cm fresh turemeric
a tiny bit of belacan
(blendered)
2 cups of air asam jawa
1 stalk serai (crushed)
1 stalk bunga kantan (sliced)
daun kesum
kacang bendi
tomatoes
ikan pari

Manual:

Saute the ingredients according to the above hierarchy, making sure the blendered items are thoroughly cooked. Then add the asam jawa juice, leave it to boil with serai, bunga kantan and daun kesum. Finally add bendi, tomatoes then fish. Ikan pari takes a while to cook so leave it to boil and mix well with the gravy. Serve to four.

4 thoughts on “modified masak asam pedas my style

  1. Intan: I have to cook coz hubby doesn’t like to eat out unless I’m soooooo tired and balik lambat. But not everyday la, patah tulang riuk..ha ha..anyway, in ur case enjoy it before Wafy becomes big enough and start to demand u to make cuppys for him! ha ha
    Thanks for the tag – don’t know when larr to reply. Tall order tu, I’ll try my best. πŸ™‚

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    I’m so happy for you when I read your comment on my blog. Very very happy, indeed!!!

    Take care of yourself, ok. And mengidam something masam2 is soooooo ok!

  3. MTT: thank you!! Love you!!! πŸ™‚
    At the rate I’m going hubby lagi teruk – tak pasal pukul 12 malam mengidam durian la, nak makan pasta la – hihihi….yes, I mengidam asam pedas and whatever kuah asam lain. πŸ™‚
    Take care MTT, my prayers are with you always. πŸ™‚

Any comment on this?

