pizza from scratch

I decided on this recipe because I wanted to make pizza from scratch, especially the dough. What’s interesting about this pizza’s base is that it adds rye flour and cornmeal, which gives it a twist from the typical bland pizza crust. And I wanted my base to be lean and thin, not spongey like bread. It took me almost 2 hours, but boy, the outcome is so yummy! Really. Let me share here.

Qahina's home made pizza

Qahina's homemade pizza

  • Ingredients: (make sure everything is in room-temperature)
    6 tablespoons whole milk
    2 tablespoons olive oil
    2 tablespoons cornmeal
    1 sachet of yeast (soak with warm water for 30 mins till foam surfaced)
    1/2 a teaspoon of salt
    2 tablespoons rye flour
    1 3/4 cup all purpose flour (I use Pillsbury)
    5-7 tablespoons of tomato paste (I use pasta sauce for that extra zing)
    your choice of topping (mine is minced meat and mushroom/chicken and pineapple or at best, stick to original margeritha)
    lots of shredded mozarella cheese.
  • Manual
    Add each of the above items in order while stirring it gently with a whisk until all is fully incorporated. When you start adding flour, use a wooden spoon to beat it slowly until it forms a dough. Spread it on a flat surface already sprinkled with flour and a bit of cornmeal and start kneading the dough for 10 minutes. Then keep the dough in a bowl covered with plastic foil for the yeast plus mixture to swell for 30 minutes. During that time, preheat the oven at 280 degrees for 20 minutes. After that, spread the dough with a rolling pin (or anything cylinder) until your desired shape and spread the tomato paste, toppings and garnish with mozarella cheese. Next, bake in the oven for 25 minutes and voila! Your pizza is ready to be eaten. Serves hot to 4-6 people.

My daughter loves the pizza. Heck, it’s worth the hard kneading work! 🙂

7 thoughts on “pizza from scratch

  1. My reaction was “WOWWWW” upon seeing that pizza. Macam store-bought la, Aniq. I bet, it taste much, much better. Good job, you. I think, I’ll try your recipe. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. he he..i can’t stop grinning. I made the pizza for tea so everyone was full then but they managed a slice each. Later we went out for dinner – I told my maid she could have the pizza and guess what? When we got home pizza habisssss! Sure lazeeth punya sampai licin kena sapu! LOL
    Yeah, thanks for the comments everyone. Another trick I tried was that I put the shredded mozarella 20 mins after I put it in the oven and add another 3 mins to baking so that the cheese won’t get burned and remains gooey… 🙂

  3. Hi arnie, thanks! I just checked my blog – if it were earlier I could’ve offered you some rye and cornmeal coz you just need 2 spoons each and I still have plenty. Give me a twinkle if you need some yeah? 🙂

Any comment on this?

